INDIE FRIDAY: White Denim Has Love For The Streets [MUSIC]

For all the screaming psychedelic, jam-out, ‘we know how to play our instruments super well’ moments that White Denim creates, 'Get Back To Love (Street Joy)' is a welcome smooth-as-hell revelation. The four-piece Austin TX outfit reminds use that it's okay to occasionally put all of the theatrics aside and just go for a ’60s barbershop soul vibe — some beautiful music to fall in love (or do other requisite love-oriented things) to.

The band will be banging out the beats next weekend, April 13th at Bowery Ballroom in NYC. Peep it.


White Denim - Get Back To Love (Street Joy)

INDIE FRIDAY: The Return Of Mr. Little Jeans? [MUSIC]

Some pairings are just meant to be: peanut butter and chocolate, yupsters and absinthe drips, Mr. Little Jeans…and Wavves? California dream pop meets rambunctious surfer rock. Seems like a disaster but sounds like awesome. 'Runaway' as heard through a wall of Brillo pads, trashy guitars and sandy reverb nearly bests the original. It’s hypnotic, dark and feels like sleeping under the boardwalk with no blanket. This is weekend rock, through and through.

No word on anything new yet..but as always--shall keep you posted.


Mr. Little Jeans - Runaway (Wavves Remix)
Mr. Little Jeans - The Suburbs (Arcade Fire Cover)

A.P.T.B.S. Finds Room For Spiritualism [MUSIC]

New York noise rockers A Place To Bury Strangers will follow up February’s Onwards to the Wall EP with the release of their third LP, Worship, on June 26th via Dead Oceans. The band describes the 11-track effort, which they wrote, recorded, mixed and mastered themselves, as “our vision of what music should sound like in 2012.” Here's more:

“Every sound on the album is made by us and our tools; tools created by us, used on no other recordings, and purposefully built for this project. This is real,” bassist Dion Lunadon explains in an issued statement. “Some of it is the band being in complete control — bending, shaping and building the songs and the sounds. Other parts are the band relinquishing control and letting the songs and sounds take over and produce themselves. We are not trying to reinvent ourselves, but simply push ourselves further in all aspects of our music.”

Sonically, the album interweaves “threads of krautrock, dream-pop, and 80s goth without ever losing the edge that is quintessentially Strangers,” according to a press release. As a first listen, you can stream and download 'You Are The One' below (via SPIN.com). The tracklist follows.

Worship Tracklist:

01. Alone
02. You Are The One
03. Mind Control
04. Worship
05. Fear
06. Dissolved
07. Why I Can’t Cry Anymore
08. Revenge
09. And I’m Up
10. Slide
11. Leaving Tomorrow


A Place To Bury Strangers - You Are The One


Edward Sharpe His Magnetic Zeros Is 'What's Up' [MUSIC]

Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros’ first of two new albums, Here, arrives May 29th via Community Music/Vagrant. There are two tracks out now ahead of the release, including lead single and album opener, ‘Man On Fire’ and ‘That’s What’s Up’. The latter is sung by co-lead lady, Jade Castrinos.

If you happen to be in the NY area, this motley crew will be playing a gig May 8th at Roseland Ballroom.

In the interim, grab some tracks below, including a remix of their hit songHome’. Courtesy of RAC.

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros - Man On Fire
Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeros - Thats Whats Up
Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros - Home (RAC Mix)


Florence & Josh Homme Team Up Without Plugs [MUSIC]

On a very special episode of MTV Unplugged, the lovely Florence & The Machine brought out Queens of the Stone Age frontman, Josh Homme to cover Johnny Cash and June Carter’s 1963 duet 'Jackson'. Listen to the audio below.

Flo and Co.’s Unplugged performance will air on MTV on April 8th. Two days later (the 10th..) the recording will be released on CD, deluxe CD/DVD, and as a digital download via Universal Republic.

MTV Unplugged – A Live Album Tracklist:

01. Only If For A Night
02. Drumming Song
03. Cosmic Love
04. Breaking Down
05. Never Let Me Go
06. Try A Little Tenderness
07. No Light No Light
08. Jackson (feat. Josh Homme)
09. What The Water Gave Me
10. Dog Days Are Over
11. Shake It Out


Florence & The Machine (Feat Josh Homme) - Jackson (Johnny Cash Cover)

David Lynch Gets Crazy With Clowns [VIDEO]

Besides having an unusual addiction to coffee, another passion of David Lynch is creating unusual music and films. The latest from the 'Mad-Men-esque' silver fox is his video for 'Crazy Clown Time' and title track for his most recent experimental album.

Although highly NSFW (when has that stopped you trying to find those Playboy shots of Lindsay Lohan), it is very well done. In the clip, Lynch orchestrates the game day after-party from hell, complete with a topless blonde, a couple of fazed out LA hipsters, and what appears to be Ryan Gosling on steroids.

Personally, I was hoping the first video would be 'Pinky's Dream' which features the lovely and talented Karen O of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. But if you havent heard this stuff yet, prepare for an mind-warping acid trip only California can provide.

David Lynch - Crazy Clown Time
David Lynch - Pinky's Dream (Feat. Karen O)

speaking of California...anyone see the Californication season finale??! Wow....